Music, videos, trivia, stories, books, gigs and news. Here you´ll find stuff on the great bands from the 70s and 80s!

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Phenomena: "Awakening" Out In March; Cover Artwork, Track List, Musicans Unveiled

Escape Music has announced the release of PHENOMENA's "Awakening" on March 23rd.

The story began in the year 1983, when Tom Galley wrote a couple of short stories with a transcendental background. Backed by record label Bronze, the recordings for the album "Phenomena" started soon which finally hit the stores in 1985. Besides the extra-ordinary concept story both musicianship and the names involved with the project are highlights to mention. Names such as Glenn Hughes (Deep Purple, HTP), drum legend Cozy Powell (Rainbow, Wgitesnake), Don Airey (Deep Purple), Neil Murray (Whitesnake) - the elite of the British Hard Rock scene had joined the project. "Phenomena" received high critical acclaim in the press and extremely good sales.

The second Phenomena album "Phenomena II - Dream Runner" was released in 1987 and was welcomed with a similarly warm response. The musicians around the Galley brothers had changed slightly, so that this album in the end featured contributions from Ray Gillen (Badlands, Black Sabbath), John Wetton (Asia), Scott Gorham (Thin Lizzy) and Max Bacon (GTR), amongst others.

With new label Parachute involved, in 1991 the time was right for "final part" of the conceptional story; "Phenomena III - Inner Visions". Besides Brian May (Queen) and Keith Murrell (Airrace), you'll here also find performances by Michael Sturgis (A-HA) and Scott Gorham (Thin Lizzy). The Complete Works were released in a triple fold out Digipack by Escape Music. 

However, the Phenomena concept continued in 2006 under the banner "PsychoFantasy", (ESM125 ecolbook and 125r regular version) which strictly follows the traditions of its three predecessors. Besides the concept story background, you will once again will find a whole bunch of amazing artists performing on this record: Tony Martin (Black Sabbath), Glenn Hughes (Deep Purple), Keith Murrell (Mama's Boys) - and Mel Galley (Whitesnake, Trapaze).

In September 2010 a new chapter began with a whole host of musicians, and Blind Faith was born to explosive effect. With new vocalists like Robin Beck, Terry Brock (Strangeways) and Rob Moratti (Saga) a whole new world was unveiled and the concept became so fresh again. The rock audience once more were thrilled to hear the latest in this timeless story.

"Awakening" features James Christian (House of Lords), Lee Small (Shy) and Toby Hitchcock (Pride of Lions) as well as familiar faces like Rob Moratti, Terry Brock and Mike DiMeo (Riot, Masterplan). Powerful songs executed by some of the finest rock musicians make this a hugely enjoyable album and it boasts a fine production from Tom Galley and Martin Kronlund.

"Awakening" tracklisting: 

'Smash It Up' - (Lee Small on vocals, Mat Sinner on bass, Magnus Karlsson on lead guitars)
'Reality' - (Toby Hitchcock on vocals and Mike Slamer on lead guitars)
'Homeland' - (Rob Moratti on vocals and Martin Kronlund on all guitars)
'Going Away' - (James Christian vocals and Tommy Denander Martin Kronlund on guitars)
'Gotta Move' - (Ralf Scheepers on vocals and Christian Wolff and Tommy Denander on guitars)
'How Long' - (Lee Small on vocals and Martin Kronlund on guitars)
'Shake' - (Mike DiMeo on vocals and Martin Kronlund on guitars)
'Fighter' - (Terry Brock on vocals and Steve Newman on guitars and backing vocals)
'Dancing Days' - (Niklas Swedentorp on lead vocals with all Coldspell members)
'Stand Up For Love' - (Chris Antblad with JAVA Gospel Choir) 

No comments:

Post a Comment