Music, videos, trivia, stories, books, gigs and news. Here you´ll find stuff on the great bands from the 70s and 80s!

Friday, May 4, 2012

Ian Gillan And Tony Iommi To Release WhoCares Album In June; Track List

Deep Purple`s Ian Gillan and Black Sabbath's Tony Iommi took everybody by surprise in 2011 by releasing a charity single: Out Of My Mind, renewing the collaboration that led the pair recording an album in 1984 Born Again under the moniker Black Sabbath. For the occasion, the two rock legends called a few friends, asking for some “help”. None other than Jason Newsted (ex-Metallica), Jon Lord (ex-Deep Purple) and Nicko McBrain (Iron Maiden) completed the supergroup.

The single was a joyful and inspired moment. The spark to bring Iommi and Gillan in a studio, together again was to finance the rebuilding of a music school in Armenia they had visited together on various occasions in past years. Far from being a spectacular charity project, WhoCares was a nice gesture, done with class, from two musicians with nothing to prove, willing to support music, where music is considered a luxury.

Gillan comments: “As I said once in the song 'Razzle Dazzle' (Deep Purple's Bananas)… ...’it’s a real fine line between an orgy of destruction and a wonderful time’… The destruction of conformity in this case: Some of these pieces never really fitted into their contemporary program and got side-lined or forgotten, and some of the album tracks never had much exposure. As the track-listing for this album came together I noticed many of the titles had character similarities; a combination of freshness as they finally felt the sun on their backs and rebellion in a ‘yeah told you so’ kind of way. And that adds up to a wonderful time. And that adds up to more money for the music school we are building in Armenia. And what about WhoCares… this ad hoc benefit band put together by Tony Iommi and myself on a flight home from Yerevan, where we’d been deeply humbled by the honours and expectations bestowed upon us. Well that’s it really, in a nutshell, so to speak, what more can I say; it’s all there in the music.”

WhoCares compilation track list:
  1. WhoCares – Out Of My Mind (from the CD single of the same title)
  2. Ian Gillan feat, Iommi, Paice and Glover – Trashed (from Gillan’s Inn)
  3. Black Sabbath – Zero The Hero (from Born Again)
  4. Deep Purple – Dick Pimple (unreleased Deep Purple studio out-take from Purpendicular)
  5. WhoCares – Holy Water (from the WhoCares single)
  6. Black Sabbath – Anno Mundi (from Tyr)
  7. Ian Gillan – She Thinks It’s A Crime (first time on CD or digital)
  8. Tony Iommi feat. Glenn Hughes – Slip Away (previously only available digitally)
  9. Ian Gillan – When A Blind Man Cries (live acoustic at Absolute Radio, unreleased)
  10. Garth Rockett aka Ian Gillan – No Laughing In Heaven (live)
  11. Ian Gillan feat. Mikhalis Ratzinkis – Getaway (available only on deleted vinyl LP)
  12. Tony Iommi feat. Glenn Hughes – Let It Down Easy (Japanese bonus track of the album Fused)
  13. Ian Gillan And The Javelins – Can I Get A Witness
  14. Repo Depo – Easy Come Easy Go (unreleased)
  15. Deep Purple feat. Ronnie James Dio – Smoke On The Water
Two more tracks are to be confirmed:
  • Gillan/Glover – Can’t Believe You Wanna Leave Me
  • Gillan – Don’t Hold Me Back

    WhoCares will be released on June 22nd

No comments:

Post a Comment