Music, videos, trivia, stories, books, gigs and news. Here you´ll find stuff on the great bands from the 70s and 80s!

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Loverboy: "Rock `n` Roll Revival"; New Album Out In August; Album Cover, Track List Revealed

Frontier Records has issued the following press release on Loverboy`s new studio album "Rock `n` Roll Revival, set for an August 14 (USA), August 28 (Europe) release:

With their trademark red leather pants, bandannas, big rock sound and high-energy live shows, Loverboy has sold more than 10 million albums, earning four multi-platinum plaques in the USA, including the four-million-selling Get Lucky, and a trio of double-platinum releases in their self-titled 1980 debut, 1983’s Keep It Up and 1985’s Lovin’ Every Minute of It. Their string of hits includes, in addition to the anthem “Working for the Weekend,” such arena rock staples as “Lovin’ Every Minute of It,” “This Could Be the Night,” “Hot Girls in Love,” “Heaven In Your Eyes,” “Turn Me Loose,” “When It’s Over,” “Heaven In Your Eyes” and “Queen of the Broken Hearts.”

Loverboy  went on to win a still-record six Juno awards in 1982, and until a three-year sabbatical in 1989, were one of the Top 5 grossing touring acts in the world, performing in over 100 cities across the U.S. and Canada. Their success made them the first Canadian group ever to earn Columbia Records’ exclusive Crystal Glove Award, celebrating the sale of over five million albums outside their native country. Since 1992, the band has maintained a steady road presence, with a greatest hits compilation,  "Loverboy  – Classics", in 1993, which went gold five years later. In 2001, the band released a live greatest hits CD, Live, Loud & Loose, which captured the group doing what they did best, entertaining their legion of rabid fans.

In 2005,  Loverboy  celebrated 25 years together by performing in selected cities throughout the U.S. and Canada. During the summer tour, the band introduced a couple of brand-new songs, which led to “Just Getting Started”, their first new studio album in a decade. In March 2009, the group was inducted into the Canadian Music Hall Of Fame at the Juno Awards show at GM Place in Vancouver, BC, where they joined the likes of Bryan Adams, Leonard Cohen, Neil Young and David Foster.

Aside from singer Mike Reno and guitarist Paul Dean,  Loverboy  still includes original members Doug Johnson on keyboards and Matt Frenette on drums, with Ken “Spider” Sinnaeve (a former member of Dean and Frenette’s pre- Loverboy  band Streetheart), who replaced the late Scott Smith on bass, and continues a healthy touring schedule around the world.

Loverboy  is now back once again, having reunited at Bryan Adams’ Vancouver studio The Warehouse, with their original engineer, legendary producer Bob Rock (Metallica, Aerosmith, The Cure, Bon Jovi), who worked under Bruce Fairbairn at the time. The band has recorded three new songs with Rock, “Heartbreaker” “Rock 'N' Roll Revival “ and “No Tomorrow,” which have been added to nine all new re-recordings of the band’s best tracks.

But it is  Loverboy ’s reputation as a live act which has always been its calling card, as the group continues to entertain fans of all ages, amazing even Reno, who has lost more than 50 pounds recently to keep up the pace. They return to the road with Journey and Pat Benatar featuring Neil Giraldo for an arena tour that gets underway July 21 at the San Manuel Amphitheatre in San Bernardino, CA, running all the way through December.

Mike Reno - Vocals
Paul Dean - Guitars
Doug Johnson - Keyboards
Matt Frenette – Drums
Ken “Spider” Sinnaeve – Bass

1.     Rock ‘n’ Roll Revival

2.     No Tomorrow

3.     Heartbreaker

4.     Turn Me Loose

5.     Working For The Weekend

6.     Lovin’ Every Minute Of It

7.     The Kid Is Hot Tonight

8.     Lucky Ones

9.     Always On My Mind

10.    Queen Of The Broken Hearts

11.    When It’s Over

12.    Hot Girls In Love

No comments:

Post a Comment