Music, videos, trivia, stories, books, gigs and news. Here you´ll find stuff on the great bands from the 70s and 80s!

Friday, September 9, 2011

Nazareth: "Naz Box" 4CD Box Out In September; All The Details

Scotland’s premier rock exports, Nazareth are famed for their brilliant interpretations of other people’s songs as well as their crunching originals and phenomenal live show. This collection is the most extensive overview of their career to date. It takes in highlights from 40 years of albums, adding a wealth of previously unreleased recordings, both premium concert material and studio sides. The fully illustrated 64-page book that accompanies it features extensive notes and rare photos to complete the definitive Naz package.

The Dunfermline-raised hard rock quartet has defied the odds so many times in their 40 plus year career to date that they’re one of the very few touring acts to deserve the title of veterans. Overcoming legal battles, the tragic death of a founder member and too many spins of the wheel of fashion to number, Nazareth have simply kept going, and going, and going, in the face of setbacks that would have caused most other bands to throw down their guitars in disgust and quit. 

"Naz Box" squeezes four CDs’ worth of Nazareth’s most memorable songs into a package which celebrates a career like few others. The selection represents all of their studio albums and draws significantly from their impressive concert legacy as well introducing a number a previously unheard recordings, both band compositions and cover versions. Twenty-two albums, seven live collections and 11 compilations down the line, the band’s catalogue is so prodigious that it hasn’t been easy to choose representative tracks, even with four discs to fill. So we’ve taken the songs that we think epitomise the hard-working ethos and no-bullshit attitude that has driven the band for so many years (and added  a bounty of previously unavailable material). If those phrases sound like standard clichés from ‘Hard Rock Journalism 1.01’, bear with us: this is not the kind of story, and indeed not the type of band, that you come across every day…

  1. Dear John
  2. Friends (B-side)
  3. Woke Up This Morning
  4. If You See My Baby (single)
  5. Razamanaz
  6. Bad Bad Boy
  7. Broken Down Angel
  8. Go Down Fighting
  9. This Flight Tonight
  10. Shanghai’d in Shanghai
  11. Loved and Lost
  12. Hair of the Dog
  13. Love Hurts
  14. My White Bicycle
  15. Vancouver Shakedown
  16. I Want To Do Everything For You
  17. Expect No Mercy
  18. Place In Your Heart
  19. New York Broken Toy
  20. Star
  1. May The Sunshine (single mix)
  2. Holiday
  3. Heart’s Grown Cold
  4. Every Young Man’s Dream
  5. Crazy (A Suitable Case For Treatment)
  6. Boys In the Band
  7. Dream On
  8. Whippin’ Boy
  9. Where Are You Now
  10. Sweetheart Tree
  11. Cinema
  12. Hit the Fan
  13. Piece Of My Heart
  14. Hire and Fire
  15. Every Time It Rains
  16. Cry Wolf
  17. Cant' Shake Those Shakes
  18. Light Comes Down
  19. Day At the Beach
  20. Big Dogz Gonna Howl
CD 3 
  1. Turn On Your Receiver (Bob Harris jingle)
  2. Called Her Name (BBC live track)
  3. Country Girl (BBC live track)
  4. Black Hearted Woman (BBC live track)
  5. Goin’ Down (BBC live track)
  6. Alactaraz (BBC live track)
  7. Vigilante Man (BBC live track)
  8. Ruby Baby (BBC live track)
  9. Woke Up This Morning / Boogie (BBC live track)
  10. Changing Times (BBC live track)
  11. Honky Tonk Downstairs (BBC live track)
  12. What You Gonna Do About It (BBC live track)
  13. You Got Me Hummin’ (BBC live track)
  14. Guilty (BBC live track)
CD 4 
  1. Telegram (BBC live track)
  2. Night Woman (BBC live track)
  3. Born To Love (BBC live track)
  4. Gone Dead Train (BBC live track)
  5. Kentucky Fried Blues (BBC live track)
  6. Teenage Nervous Breakdown (BBC live track)
  7. Paper Sun (previously unreleased)
  8. Storm Warning (previously unreleased)
  9. Mexico (demo) (previously unreleased)
  10. Laid To Wasted (outtake from Sound Elixir) (previously unreleased)
  11. Read the Book (previously unreleased)
  12. SOS (outtake from Sound Elixir) (previously unreleased)
  13. Sunshine Of Your Love (outtake from Snakes ‘N’ Ladders) (previously unreleased)
  14. See You See Me (previously unreleased)
  15. Heatwave (previously unreleased)

No comments:

Post a Comment